COL is governed by a Commonwealth-wide Board of Governors with provision for up to 17 members consisting of the Chair, up to nine major donors, representatives from four Commonwealth regions, as well as the Commonwealth Secretary-General, the Secretary-General’s appointee and the President of COL (ex-officio). This provides for regional spread complemented with rotation of representatives.

Current Members of the Board of Governors


COL Board of Governors meeting in Burnaby, BC, Canada (June 2016)

Back row, left to right: 
Deodat Maharaj (representing Commonwealth Secretary-General Patricia Scotland), 
K. Balasubramanian, Hubert Charles, Emma Kruse Va'ai, Lockwood Smith and Rob Whitby

Front row, left to right: 
Narend Baijnath, Atta-ur-Rahman, Linda Sissons (Chair),
Asha Kanwar (President and CEO), Janet Ecker, Mariam Katagum and Martin Bean.

Not present in photo: 
Danny Faure and Vinay Sheel Oberoi