COL is governed by a Commonwealth-wide Board of Governors with provision for up to 17 members consisting of the Chair, up to nine major donors, representatives from four Commonwealth regions, as well as the Commonwealth Secretary-General, the Secretary-General’s appointee and the President of COL (ex-officio). This provides for regional spread complemented with rotation of representatives.

Current Members of the Board of Governors


COL Board of Governors meeting in Vancouver, BC, Canada (June 2019)

Back row, left to right: 
 Mr Michael Gort, His Excellency Ambassador Hubert John Charles, Lord David Puttnam, Ms Louise Ellis, The Rt Hon Sir Lockwood Smith,
Professor Narend Baijnath, Dr Arjoon Suddhoo. 

Front row, left to right: 
Professor Belinda Tynan, Professor Asha Kanwar, Dr Linda Sissons, The Honourable Mr Nurul Islam Nahid, Letuimanu'asina Dr Emma Kruse Vaai.