Award of Excellence for Institutional Achievement

COL presents up to two awards for institutional excellence. The awards recognise significant institutional achievements in the innovative and effective application of technology-enabled learning and open and distance learning methodologies, which reach students who may not have otherwise participated in the learning or training experience.

The 2019-2022 awards will be presented at the Tenth Pan-Commonwealth Forum on Open Learning (PCF10) which will take place in Calgary, Canada from 14 to 16 September 2022, jointly organised with Athabasca University.

For general information on all awards, see

Recipients of the Award of Excellence for Institutional Achievement

2017-2019 Awards, presented at PCF9
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University
2014-2016 Awards, presented at PCF8
  • National Institute of Open Schooling, India
2011-2013 Awards, presented at PCF7
  • Krishna Kant Handiqui State Open University (KKHSOU), India
  • Wawasan Open University (WOU), Malaysia
2009-2010 Awards, presented at PCF6
  • Open University of Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Polytechnic of Namibia, Namibia
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
2007-2008 Awards, presented at PCF5
  • Namibian College of Open Learning, Namibia
  • University of Papua New Guinea, Papua New Guinea
2005-2006 Awards, presented at PCF4
  • The University of the South Pacific, Fiji
  • Botswana College of Distance and Open Learning, Botswana
  • Netaji Subhas Open University, India
2003-2004 Awards, presented at PCF3
  • The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand, New Zealand
  • University of Southern Queensland, Australia
2001-2002 Awards, presented at PCF2
  • Athabasca University, Canada
  • BBC World Service, United Kingdom
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University, India
1998-1999 Awards, presented at PCF1
  • Contact North /Contact Nord, Canada
  • National Open School, India
  • The Open University of Hong Kong

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign Up Now