Skip to main content

Honorary Fellows

The title “Honorary Fellow of the Commonwealth of Learning” recognises outstanding contributions by an individual to distance education in areas such as: leadership and service, published works including courseware, lectures and presentations and mentorship.

Consideration is typically limited to citizens of Commonwealth countries and the title is conferred for life. COL names Honorary Fellows during the Pan-Commonwealth Forums, and does not seek nominations for this award.

The latest conferment of this title on individuals was presented during the Tenth Pan-Commonwealth Forum on Open Learning (PCF10) held in Calgary, Canada in September 2022.

Photo of COL Honorary Fellows on stage at PCF10

Conferred at PCF10 (2022)

Dr Tony Bates

The Honourable Mrs Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun

Mr Maxim Jacques Jean-Louis

The Honourable Ambassador Mariam Yalwaji Katagum

The Honourable Priya D. Manickchand

Mr Mohammed Rezwan

Professor Alan Tait

Professor Ami Upadhyay


Conferred at PCF9 (2019)

Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu

Ms Anne Gaskell

Professor Datuk Dr Asma Ismail

Mr Kamaraj Keppanan

Professor Mandla Makhanya

Professor Nageshwar Rao

Professor Clement Sankat

Dr Linda Sissons


Conferred at PCF8 (2016)

Mr Martin Bean

Professor Rajesh Chandra

Dr Luz Marina Longsworth

Professor Naveed Akhtar Malik

Professor Tolly Salvator Augustin Mbwette

The Honourable Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang

Ms Chetna Vijay Sinha


Conferred at PCF7 (2013)

The Honourable Danny Faure

Professor Olugbemiro Jegede

Dame Carol Kidu

Dr Olabisi Kuboni

Professor Dato’ Wong Tat Meng

Dr Caroline Seelig

Dr Daniel Tau

Professor James Taylor


Conferred at PCF6 (2010)

Professor M. Aminul Islam

The late Dr Roger Mills

The Honourable Naledi Pandor

Ms. Peecheeta Spencer

Professor John Tarrant


Conferred at PCF5 (2008)

Professor Anuwar Ali

Professor Uma Coomaraswamy

Professor Brenda Gourley

Dr Myra Harrison

Professor Abdul Khan

Mr Mahesh Chandra Pant

Professor Barney Pityana

Mrs Esi Sutherland-Addy


Conferred at PCF4 (2006)

Dr Felicity Binns

Dato’ Dr Gajaraj Dhanarajan

The Honourable Zobaida Jalal

Father T.V. Kunnunkal

The Honourable Fiamé Naomi Mata’afa

HE Professor Michael Omolewa

The Honourable Burchell Whiteman


Conferred at PCF3 (2004)

Ms Janet Jenkins

Professor Peter E. Kinyanjui

Professor Badri N. Koul

Dr H. Ian Macdonald, O.C.

Professor Vasireddy Sivalinga Prasad


Conferred at PCF2 (2002)

Dr Dominique A.M.X. Abrioux

Professor Clifford D. Blake

The late Right Honourable Lord (Asa) Briggs of Lewes

Ms Shona E. Butterfield

Sir John S. Daniel

Dr Glen M. Farrell

Ms Jennifer A. Glennie

Dr Dennis H. Irvine

Dr S. Langi Kavaliku

Professor Geoffrey R.V. Mmari

Dr Roslyn L. Morpeth

Dr Hilary D. Perraton

The late Right Honourable Lord (Walter L.M.) Perry of Walton

Professor Ram G. Takwale

The late Alhaji Hafiz S. Wali


Conferred at PCF1 (1999)

The late Professor V.C. Kulandai Swamy

The late Lord Young of Dartington

Professor G. Ram Reddy (posthumous)

Professor Donald F. Swift (posthumous)

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign Up Now