COL works in many programme areas in India — girls’ and women’s education and training, open and innovative schooling, higher education, technologyenabled learning, lifelong learning for farmers, and technical and vocational skills development. Learners from India have also benefited from COL’s open online courses and other resources.


Partnerships are fundamental to COL’s work. Strategic partnerships allow COL to broaden its reach and engage at global, regional and national levels, while implementation partners support COL’s work in communities and institutions across Commonwealth Member States. Partners include multilateral organisations, regional bodies, national governments, government agencies, foundations, civil society organisations, public and private (not-for-profit) institutions and the private sector. COL partnerships assist in improving and extending teaching and learning services to people in the developing Commonwealth.

COL’s partners in India include:

  • Ministry of Education (formerly Ministry of Human Resource Development)
  • Ministry of Information Broadcasting
  • Andhra University
  • Arul Anandar College
  • Bankers Institute of Rural Development
  • Bilaspur University
  • BOSCH Ltd.
  • Central University of Himachal Pradesh
  • Centurion University of Technology and Management
  • Chetana Institute for the Mentally Handicapped
  • Department of School Education, Telangana
  • Department of Science and Technology, Government of India
  • Digital Empowerment Foundation
  • Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University
  • Educational Technology and Management Academy
  • First Impressions Resources Pvt. Ltd.
  • Focal Skills
  • Foundation for MSME Clusters
  • Gopalganj-Debiana Fisherman Cooperative Society Limited
  • Graphic Era Hill University
  • Indian Institute of Skill Development
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
  • Indira Gandhi National Open University
  • International College, Kolkata
  • IT for Change, Bangalore
  • Karnataka State Open University
  • Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University
  • Mann Deshi Foundation
  • M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation
  • National Institute of Bank Management
  • National Institute of Open Schooling
  • National Institute for Entrepreneurship and Small Business Development
  • Netaji Subhas Open University
  • Odisha Rural Development and Marketing Society
  • Odisha State Open University
  • Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies
  • Reddiyarchatram Seed Growers Association
  • Rural Education and Development India
  • Sambhav Foundation
  • Save the Children
  • ScooNews | EdBank
  • Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women’s University
  • Siliguri Global Engineering Institute
  • Skill Council for Green Jobs
  • State Resource Center, Kerala
  • Tamil Nadu Open University
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  • University of Hyderabad
  • University of Kashmir
  • Uttarakhand Open University
  • Vardhman Mahaveer Open University
  • Vidiyal
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University

Key Contacts

Board of Governors

Professor Sudhir K. Jain
Vice Chancellor
Banaras Hindu University

Focal Point

Mr Mrutyunjay Behera
Economic Adviser, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education

Notable Mention

Mr R.P. Agrawal, former member of COL Board of Governors

The late Mr. Sudeep K. Banerjee, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr B.S. Baswan, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr B.K. Chaturvedi, former member of COL Board of Governors

Ms Vibha Puri Das, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr P.R. Dasgupta, former member of COL Board of Governors

Professor Vasudha Kamat, Honorary COL Adviser

Mr M.K. Kaw, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr Kamaraj Keppanan, COL Honorary Fellow

Dr Abdul Waheed Khan, COL Honorary Fellow

Mr Amit Khare, former member of COL Board of Governors

Professor Badri Nath Koul, COL Honorary Fellow

Father T.V. Kunnunkal, COL Honorary Fellow

Mr Mahesh Chandra Pant, COL Honorary Fellow

Professor T.V. Prabhakar, COL Chair (Department of Computer Science, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)

Professor Vasireddy Sivalinga Prasad, COL Honorary Fellow

Dr Mrs K. Rama, former Honorary COL Adviser

Professor Nageshwar Rao, COL Honorary Fellow

The late Professor G. Ram Reddy, COL Honorary Fellow and member of COL’s Founding Board of Governors

Mr K K Sharma, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr Abhimanyu Singh, former member of COL Board of Governors

Ms Chetna Vijay Sinha, COL Honorary Fellow

Mr R. Subrahmanyam, former member of COL Board of Governors

The late Professor V.C. Kulandai Swamy, COL Honorary Fellow

Professor Ram G. Takwale, COL Honorary Fellow

Mr S.C. Tripathi, former member of COL Board of Governors

More Information