South Africa

Reading Time: < 1 min

South Africa is located in the southernmost tip of Africa and has a population of approximately 56 million. As a major donor, South Africa holds a seat on the Commonwealth of Learning’s (COL) Board of Governors.


COL’s current work in South Africa is primarily in the areas of higher education, teacher education, and technology-enabled learning. Learners from South Africa have also benefited from COL’s open online courses and other resources.


Partnerships are fundamental to COL’s work. Strategic partnerships allow COL to broaden its reach and engage at global, regional and national levels, while implementation partners support COL’s work in communities and institutions across Commonwealth Member States. Partners include multilateral organisations, regional bodies, national governments, government agencies, foundations, civil society organisations, public and private (not-for-profit) institutions and the private sector. COL partnerships assist in improving and extending teaching and learning services to people in the developing Commonwealth.

COL’s partners in South Africa include:

  • Department of Higher Education and Training
  • SchoolNet South Africa
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa

Key Contacts

Board Member

Professor Daniel Kgwadi
Vice Chancellor and Principal, Vaal University of Technology

Focal Point

Ms Trudi van Wyk
Chief Director: Social Inclusion, Equity, Access and Quality
Department of Higher Education and Training

Notable Mention

The late Professor Narend Baijnath, former Chair, COL Board of Governors

Ms Jenny Glennie, COL Honorary Fellow and former member of COL Board of Governors

Professor Mandla Makhanya, COL Honorary Fellow

Professor Mpine Makoe, COL Chair (Institute for Open and Distance Learning, University of South Africa)

Professor Veronica McKay, former Honorary COL Adviser

The Honourable Naledi Pandor, COL Honorary Fellow

Professor N. Barney Pityana, COL Honorary Fellow

Dr Ihron L. Rensburg, former member of COL Board of Governors

Mr John Samuel, former member of COL Board of Governors

Professor Vincent Tenebe, former COL Chair

More Information